Monday, March 21, 2016

The Break-Up Artist (Break-Up Artist #1) by Philip Siegel {REVIEW}

Some sixteen-year-olds babysit for extra cash.

Some work at the mall.

Becca Williamson breaks up couples.

Becca knows from experience the damage that love can do. After all, it was so-called love that turned Huxley from her childhood best friend into a social-world dictator, and love that left Becca's older sister devastated at the altar. Instead of sitting on the sidelines, Becca strikes back—for just one hundred dollars via PayPal, she will trick and manipulate any couple's relationship into smithereens. And with relationship zombies overrunning her school and treating single girls as if they're second-class citizens, business is unfortunately booming. Even Becca's best friend, Val, has resorted to outright lies to snag a boyfriend.

One night, Becca receives a mysterious offer to break up the most popular couple in school: Huxley and raw football team's star player, Steve. To succeed, she'll have to plan her most elaborate scheme to date—starting rumors, sabotaging cell phones, breaking into cars...not to mention sneaking back into Huxley's good graces. All while fending off the inappropriate feelings she may or may not be having for Val's new boyfriend.

No one said being the Break-Up Artist would be easy.
Author: Philip Siegel
Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary, Chick-Lit, Romance
Publication Date:  April 29th 2014 
                                                by Harlequin Teen

 
My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
My Review:
I have a mixed reaction for this book. I had to spend a good deal of time thinking whether to give it a 3.5 or not. There are both upsides as well as downsides to this book.

Characters.


For a pretty good amount of time at the beginning, I kinda hated Becca. I actually kept on hoping to read more about anyone except her. While the plot is undoubtedly a good one, seeing it in action often made me wanna hit my head hard. I don't like people playing either the cupid or the anti-version of it. But that's not the reason I hated Becca (not majorly at least). After a point (when good boy Fred enters) when Becca starts to contradict everything she's believed about love and relationships, she appears hypocritical. I know people who dis love and romance often end uo falling hoplessly in love. But somehow Becca's character couldn't convince me of it. Also, I didn't like the kind of picture I get of high school, and more importantly, girls, from her. I don't have anything against girls portrayed as stereotyped girls in stories. But the amount of degradation done here is pathetic to me. It's like all they could talk about was boys, or how to get a guy and how to make boys go gaga over you. I'm not a man-hater, but I don't like such extreme level of pathetic. Everyone loooovess dem boys. Boys are the be all and end all in Ashland High.
"I need a boy."...Vulnerability and desperation flicker in her eyes.
Give me a break.

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer {REVIEW}

The enchantment continues....

The universe of the Lunar Chronicles holds stories—and secrets—that are wondrous, vicious, and romantic. How did Cinder first arrive in New Beijing? How did the brooding soldier Wolf transform from young man to killer? When did Princess Winter and the palace guard Jacin realize their destinies?

With nine stories—five of which have never before been published—and an exclusive never-before-seen excerpt from Marissa Meyer’s upcoming novel, Heartless, about the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, Stars Above is essential for fans of the bestselling and beloved Lunar Chronicles.
--
The Little Android: A retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid,” set in the world of The Lunar Chronicles.
Glitches: In this prequel to Cinder, we see the results of the plague play out, and the emotional toll it takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch….
The Queen’s Army: In this prequel to Scarlet, we’re introduced to the army Queen Levana is building, and one soldier in particular who will do anything to keep from becoming the monster they want him to be.
Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky: Thirteen-year-old Carswell Thorne has big plans involving a Rampion spaceship and a no-return trip out of Los Angeles.
The Keeper: A prequel to the Lunar Chronicles, showing a young Scarlet and how Princess Selene came into the care of Michelle Benoit.
After Sunshine Passes By: In this prequel to Cress, we see how a nine-year-old Cress ended up alone on a satellite, spying on Earth for Luna.
The Princess and the Guard: In this prequel to Winter, we see a game called The Princess

The Mechanic: In this prequel to Cinder, we see Kai and Cinder’s first meeting from Kai’s perspective.

Something Old, Something New: In this epilogue to Winter, friends gather for the wedding of
the century...
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Romance
Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
                                          by Feiwel & Friends
Previous book in the series:  

   

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
My Review:

Friday, March 4, 2016

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer (REVIEW}


Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.
Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles 3.5) by Marissa Meyer {MINI REVIEW}


In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?


Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power.
But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death.
This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series. 
 
Book Title: Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles 3.5) 
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre:Young Adult, Fantasy, Science fiction, Retelling
Publication Date:  January 27th 2015
                                                  by Feiwel and Friends

Previous book in the series: Cress




Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Sabbatical period over!

Sorry for the unannounced hiatus. Have been crazy busy with life all this while. I kind of still am (very much!) but I guess I'm never gonna have enough time anymore so it's better I just start. Those who might still be following this blog,

Friday, October 31, 2014

Month9Books Birthday Bash: Author Posts and EPIC Giveaways!!!



Welcome to Month9Books Birthday Bash! We’re so excited you’re all stopping by!

This is going to be an awesome event with many tour stops featuring our authors! The full schedule is below and make sure to stick around for the EPIC Giveaway taking place!
Here’s a quick note from Georgia McBride, owner of Month9Books!
Month9Books is turning 2 this year and I could not be happier. We are living proof that if you have a dream to write, create and inspire, you should follow that dream and let nothing keep you from realizing it. Thank you to all the readers, writers, agents, partners and friends who have made this possible. We write for you.
--Georgia McBride, Publisher and Owner of Month9Books

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

The Secret Diamond Sisters (The Secret Diamond Sisters #1) by Michelle Madow {BOOK BLITZ}

Another Blitz!! With the recent increase in Blitz posts on my blog you may start thinking I've become too lazy to read books or put up reviews. While I've been too busy (and still am) with my studies and stuff that's not the reason at all. Like for this one; I've been meaning to read this series for sometime now. Then with a hell load of other things happening I just forgot (how could I? -_- ) So when I saw the Blitz invitation on YA Bound Boook Tours, I couldn't think of anything better to free myself of that guilt :D